Home > And More > Super Sharks of Goodna?

Super Sharks of Goodna?

Sharks fascinate me.  Always have, always will.  Every year, I wait for some fools to get eaten’ during Shark Week.  I watch every episode multiple times (even the one where those jerks at Mythbusters tried to prove that Roy Scheider couldn’t actually blow up the shark by shooting the scuba tank clutched in its jaws).  In fact, before I became boring, I was going to be a marine biologist simply so I could play with sharks.  I catch all the shark movies…especially the really awesome ones on Sy-Fy (the channel formerly known as the Science Fiction channel).  You know what I’m talking about…the ones about scientists discovering prehistoric sharks during Spring Break, or genetically mutated sharks during Spring Break, or mega sharks that battle mega-crocs during Spring Break?  You watch them too.

When I was a kid, I often terrified myself with thoughts of the ocean flooding our house and waking up with sharks eating my feet.  Of course, these fears were absurd, since I lived in Michigan.  Apparently, the thought is not so absurd in Goodna, Australia, where because of the flooding of local rivers, sharks have been spotted swimming down mainstreet! 

 Two bull sharks, renown for their aggression, were spotted swimming through the flooded streets of a small town in the inundated Australian state of Queensland, the Queensland Times reported Friday.

Rivers you ask?  Yes, bull sharks can survive in fresh water for a time and do swim up rivers.  So there’s your science lesson for the day.  So, while they’re not technically mutated, it’s still pretty cool.  I’m sure you find this to be as cool as I do right?  Anyone?  Well, if you don’t, it’s because you’re a complete loser who drives a 1977 station wagon and has no friends.  There, I said it. 

Moral of the story: you can now frighten your children with thoughts of them waking up one evening during a heavy rain storm with sharks in their bed, and have some basis for it.  Only when they’ve been naughty, of course.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

