Home > And More > Does Lebron James Saga Place Final Nail in NBA Coffin? Let’s Hope So.

Does Lebron James Saga Place Final Nail in NBA Coffin? Let’s Hope So.

To the ME show

Yes, we post on everything here…that’s why this blog is about conservative politics…and more.  It’s right there in the title, so I warned you.  By now, I’m sure just about everyone (well, maybe not my wife) has heard about the Lebron James drama-rama.  He apparently felt it necessary to hold a hour long special on ESPN to tell everyone he was going to play with the Miami Heat.  Did he really need a prime time special?  Couldn’t he have just tweeted it or something?  And what about poor Cleveland?  I mean, the Cavaliers’ owner sounds like he found his wife in bed with his mistress…who was a man!*   Hopefully, and I’m saying this as a guy who absolutely DESPISES the NBA,  the LBJ nonsense knocks it down below bocce ball as something people voluntarily watch in their spare time.

“But ‘ville (nickname I give myself when talking to myself), why do you hate the NBA?  All that athleticism, the star-studded crowds, the cheerleaders?”  Well, I haven’t always chosen to go snow-shovel the driveway instead of watching a game; it was a progressive event.  It started with the “Jordan Rules.”  How can a sport have such blatantly different rules for different players?  Why can M.J. push off, or take ten steps without dribbling, while some other guy gets a foul called for simply looking at Air Jordan cross-eyed?

Next, I have to hear all of the wailing and gnashing of teeth about the Pistons and the Knicks and the Spurs because they actually make an effort to play defense occasionally.  Couple that with having to watch players like Alan Iverson shoot the ball fifty times a game to score 30 points.  Aren’t these guys professionals?  Why can’t they hit a shot with any consistency beyond three feet?  Then I get to watch Shaq, the most unskilled big man I’ve ever seen, simply decapitating people to get to the rim, and never get an offensive foul called.  Shouldn’t he at least have to know how to drop-step?

Finally, referee Tim Donaghy is caught making bets on games and changing outcomes.  While no one else has been implicated, I don’t buy it.  I’ve watched enough NBA games to know that the league either employs incompetent officials or cheating officials.  I’m not even sure which one is worse.

Now, the Lebron fiasco.  You know what I took out of this whole thing…Lebron’s not that good of a player (or at least he doesn’t think he is).  For a guy who is allegedly the best player in the game, he sure went out of his way to make sure he wasn’t the one taking the final shot to win the game with five seconds left in a crappy sports town.  He’s a clown, and the NBA is one step removed from the WWF.  Hopefully last night’s reality show will put it out of its misery, and mine, for good.

*Just a hypothetical.  Calm down legal team.

  1. July 9, 2010 at 12:38 PM

    Yes, he needed a prime time special! Where are your priorities man? How else would we know how bad he thinks he is? So humble. So humble. And it only took an hour of prime time to tell us that. (P.S. I wish I knew about this like your wife–as in, not at all)

  2. July 9, 2010 at 12:39 PM

    BTW, why am I not in your blogroll and lazy is??????

  3. July 9, 2010 at 12:43 PM

    i didn’t know you had a blog…blame my wife.

    what’s the address?

  4. July 9, 2010 at 12:46 PM

    murphyslawonlyworse.blogspot.com

    😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

