Home > immigration, politics > “It’s mean-spirited”

“It’s mean-spirited”

May 12, 2010

Tennessee Debates Bill To Require Proof Of Citizenship To Vote

Illegal immigration is the political/social hot-button issue that confuses me the most because I don’t understand why it’s even an issue.  If you’re here illegally, then you are breaking the law.  If you hire illegal immigrants, then you are breaking the law.  Is this really so complicated?  Apparently yes.

In Tennessee, for example, you have the legislature debating a law which would actually require people to prove that they are citizens before voting in an election.  That this law is even necessary is astonishing to me; but not as astonishing as the fact that there are actually elected representatives voting against it.  The reason

“It hampers people who want to be a part of the system,” said Sen. Thelma Harper, D-Nashville.

What?  Who?  The only people it would hamper are illegal immigrants.  In fact, it wouldn’t just hamper them, it would stop them.  So what?

Perhaps I’m dumb, but I thought one needed to be an American citizen to vote in an American election.  Isn’t citizenship a Constitutional prerequisite to vote?  Is the issue of non-citizens voting actually being debated anywhere else in the world?  When can I send my absentee ballot to Venezuela?

I don’t get it.  That the issues of illegal immigration, and protecting our borders, and maintaining our sovereignty are even debated is, in my opinion, the single most obvious sign that our representatives don’t care what we think.  In fact, it’s proof that they aren’t representatives at all.

