Home > religion > Too many left God at home yesterday.

Too many left God at home yesterday.

Half of Catholics voted for Obama last night.  Over half of Jewish folks.  I haven’t found a stat for Christians yet, but I do know that millions of evangelicals didn’t vote at all, after 30 million failed to do so four years ago.  They may as well have voted for Barry.

Everyone on the right is trying to find people to blame.  Many are blaming the stupid people that voted for Barry.  While the stupid people are always an easy target, I don’t fault them for voting for the guy they believe has their best interests in mind (even when he doesn’t).  There are plenty of freeloaders who are perfectly happy not working when they can.  There are plenty of women who believe Romney actually wanted to take away their womanly “rights,” whatever those may be.  There are plenty of union members who are unemployed because of the Obama economy.  But I’m not going to blame them.  Instead, I’m going to blame every single Christian, Catholic, and Jew who voted for Obama, when he and his party support positions that are immoral and contrary to the Bible.

While I’m going to play the social issues card today, I’m not going to tell you you’re going to hell for voting for Barry.  I don’t get to make that call.  What I am going to tell you is that abortion is murder.  I’m guessing I wouldn’t find many of you willing to vote for a guy hoping to institute a second holocaust.  But yet, millions of Judeo-Christian folks just voted for a guy who supported legislation in Illinois that allowed a doctor to throw a live baby in the trash if he/she survived an attempted abortion.  What’s your justification?  Women’s rights?  Public education?  Just wanted to be different?  You’ll have some explainin’ to do.

Gay marriage?  The Bible’s pretty clear on what constitutes marriage.  The Dems?  I think we all know where they stand on the subject.  Polygamy isn’t legal, why should gay marriage be?  What’s your justification for supporting it?  Fairness?  Rights?  At some point you have to decide what side of the line you’re on.

Oftentimes, we leave God when we walk out of church…myself included.  We all need to bring Him with us into every area of our lives, including our political lives.  John Adams once said that our Constitution was made only for a moral or religious people.  Without the independent code of ethics provided by religion, moral decay would destroy this country as a result of the freedoms guaranteed by our Constitution.  That is precisely what is taking place now, and many of the people who are obligated to fight against the decay are actually voting in favor of it.

“But Nash, aren’t you getting just a little bit drama-rama over this?”  No, my imaginary friend, I am not.  This stuff matters.  A lot.  I was ticked off last night.  And while I was ranting and raving, my wife wisely told me to focus on what mattered.  God has a plan, and that plan involves more President Barry.  My dad, who has the misfortune of today being his birthday, told me something similar.  We’re in the world, not of the world.  Four more years of Barry isn’t the worst disaster ever.  At the same time, however, we have the responsibility to vote the same way we are to live: as morally as possible.  Unfortunately, we all too often fail in doing what we ought.  There’s always next time though, God willing.

  1. Mary
    November 7, 2012 at 5:10 PM | #1

    I, too, was a bit confused by those who seemed to think they were voting for a theological leader, as opposed to a political leader. It reminded me of the discussions I overheard, many years ago, as to whether voting for JFK would “turn” the nation Catholic. Somehow, we survived a Catholic president and remained unfettered in our churches of choice. I wish those who stayed home could have resolved their conflict and added their voices to the body politic.
    As you’ve said though, there is nothing man can do to prevent God’s overarching plan being fulfilled, What a comfort that is.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

